FunFunFun Fest Artist: The Internet

Written by on October 30, 2014

The Internet

The Internet

The Internet burst onto the music scene in 2011 with their mellow, yet lyrically loaded debut album titled Purple Naked Ladies. Odd Future Members Syd The Kyd and Matt Martians, along with Jameel Bruner, Patrick Paige and Christopher A. Smith constitute The Internet.

To get an idea of the complex themes The Internet broadcasts to their listeners, listen to the track “Sunset” from Feel Good (2013). It is a song uncertain whether to praise beauty in life or to worry about constant stress, expressed both lyrically and melodically through shifts of major and minor harmonies. Brilliant.

The Internet’s sound ranges from poppy tones as in their new single, “Dontcha”, to subversive trip-hop in a song from Purple Naked Ladies, “Cocaine”, to much more. In any case, you will not be disappointed when they come to play at Fun Fun Fun Fest this year.


By Nicholas Randall

  • Coog Radio

    We are Coog Radio, the only student-run radio station at the University of Houston. Come ride the airwaves with us!

    View all posts

Coog Radio

Riding the Airwaves

Current track