Day for Night Artist Spotlight: Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Written by on November 21, 2017

Ambient, dark, melancholy and industrial are but a few of the adjectives that can be used to describe Canadian band Godspeed You! Black Emperor. Originally a 3 piece band out of Montreal, Quebec consisting of Efrim Menuck, Mike Moya and Mauro Pezzente, the band has since underwent several line-ups in a revolving door fashion before settling into their current 9 piece collective.

Although they formed in 1994, their first album, F# A# ∞, wasn’t released until 1997, with their latest album, Luciferian Towers, being released earlier this year in September. Their sound now utilizes an array of sounds consisting of layered guitars, various percussive instruments, violins and intertwining upright bass and bass guitars without incorporating lead vocals.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor is coming to Day For Night this year alongside headliners Nine Inch Nails and Thom Yorke and lesser acts Shabazz Palaces and Sky Ferreira. Their live performances are iconic, utilizing visuals that compliment their experimental sound.


Coog Radio

Riding the Airwaves

Current track