Chance the Rapper’s New Album Has Broken His Apprenticeship With Kanye West

Written by on May 17, 2016

Chance the Rapper Coloring BookChicago native, Chance the Rapper (Chancelor Bennett) has been little brother to hip-hop elite, Kanye West for a minute now—even contributing lyrics to the songs, “Father Stretch My Hands Pt. 1,” “Ultralight Beam,” “Famous,” “Feedback” and “Waves” off of Ye’s avant-garde release, The Life of Pablo. The two even performed “Ultralight Beam” Saturday Night Live this past February, Chance stealing the spotlight with the killer verse: “I made Sunday Candy I’m never going to hell/I met Kanye West, I’m never going to fail”. Perhaps it was him foretelling a prophecy.

Kanye and Chance’s relationship has boosted Chance into the mainstream and won him Kanye (and Lil’ Wayne) as features on his new album, Coloring Book. The long awaited mix tape is greater that I expected as a follow up to the monumental 2013  Acid Rap and unpredictable Donnie Trumpet and the Social Experiment collaboration project, Surf. Coloring Book successfully gathers classic Chance styled “All We Got (feat Kanye West & Chicago Children’s Choir),” dream whirlwind “D.R.A.M. Sings Special,” gospel inspired “Blessings” and slow jam, “Juke Jam (feat. Justin Bieber & Towkio) emphasis on the Justin Bieber. Previously released track, “Angels” encapsulates the projects’ overall feel-good beats, spiritual allusions, and expression of the fortunate rise of the rappers career in recent years.

Through Coloring Book, Chance has definitely established his strength as a lyricist and producer with witty yet catchy hooks and by sending the sonic heaven of deep bass, occasional trap beats, and ethereal choirs down onto his listeners. He has created a unique blend of gospel roots, personal messages, and r&b that mainstream hip-hop hasn’t really seen before. Its safe to say that Chance the Rapper is no longer a student of Kanye’s success.

The release of Coloring Book also features a new line of merch and a customizable shirt that you can check out here.

1. All We Got (feat. Kanye West & Chicago Children’s Choir)

2. No Problem (feat. Lil Wayne & 2 Chainz)

3. Summer Friends (feat. Jeremih & Francis & The Lights)

4. D.R.A.M. Sings Special

5. Blessings

6. Same Drugs

7. Mixtape (feat. Young Thug & Lil Yachty)

8. Angels (feat. Saba)

9. Juke Jam (feat. Justin Bieber & Towkio)

10. All Night (feat. Knox Fortune)

11. How Great (feat. Jay Electronica & My cousin Nicole)

12. Smoke Break (feat. Future)

13. Finish Line / Drown (feat. T-Pain, Kirk Franklin, Aryn Allen Kane & Noname)

14. Blessings


By Jade Castillo

  • Coog Radio

    We are Coog Radio, the only student-run radio station at the University of Houston. Come ride the airwaves with us!

    View all posts

Coog Radio

Riding the Airwaves

Current track